A Childhood Favorite – Look What They Did To It!

This is not like my typical morning post.  I usually feature my breakfast, followed by cooking tips and ingredient options.  This past weekend, I discovered a horrible processed food that sent shivers down my spine.  I guess I’m so far removed from the demographic this food targets that I just didn’t know it existed.  But after witnessing people at an event swarm around a box, I needed to investigate.  Have you ever heard of an Uncrustable?  From the name alone, I couldn’t figure out what it could possibly be!  Low and behold, it’s a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, stamped into a circle shaped pocket, as if you’re mother cut the crust off for you and sewed it up into a perfect little pie and packed it in a little cellophane wrapper.  I quickly turned it over to examine the “nutrition”: 320 calories, 330 mg sodium, 16 g fat, 33 g carbs, 14 g sugar.  What stands out in the ingredients list?  High Fructose Corn Syrup in the bread and the jelly, and Partially Hydrogenated Oil in the bread and the peanut butter.  I’m sorry, but I think creating a product like this is not only gross, but gross negligence.  Are we really buying these for our kids?  With all we know about those ingredients, how do we allow this?  Forget the paleo implications, because none of these components are paleo, whatsoever.  For me, the peanut butter and jelly sandwich conjures fond memories of childhood, but we never ate them like this.  No wonder there is an obesity and diabetes epidemic in this country.  I can picture a child eating two or three or four of these things after school, while playing video games.  How convenient that Sam’s Club sells these in 18 count boxes.  I can’t even begin to do the math on these numbers because it’s so appalling, but let’s say adding 30 pounds of sugar to your diet over the course of a year, is not going to yield any positive results.  A quick search on the internet yielded several pictures of kids partaking, which means people are buying and eating these things.  Even if you’re not on a paleo diet, you don’t have to eat like this.

Uncrustables Uncrustables1 Uncrustables2 Uncrustables3 Uncrustables4 Uncrustables5 Uncrustables6 Uncrustables7 Uncrustables8

3 thoughts on “A Childhood Favorite – Look What They Did To It!

  1. Pingback: Back to School Paleo | Paleo Breakfast

Leave a Reply

