Choose Your Friends Wisely

Transitioning to the paleo diet can be challenging.  Let’s face it, any diet can be challenging.  But you will reap a lifetime of rewards from taking care of yourself.  I meet people every day that, “eat healthy”, but when it comes right down to it, they don’t.  You can work out all you want, but if you’re still eating processed sugar, you’re cheating yourself out of your full potential.  Drinking a 32 oz gatorade while at the gym (and I know people who do this every day), is drinking 64 grams of sugar.  I overheard 2 women coming out of a cupcake shop, “It’s my treat when I work out”.  You’re better off staying  home.  4 mini cupcakes (and I’m talking the baby ones here) is 400 calories and 40 grams of sugar.  I hope she was at the gym for 2 hours doing intense intervals to cover that sugar load.  The cute, dry, gym outfit indicates otherwise.  Having a Venti Iced Caramel Latte after a workout may be your motivation to finish strong, but 22 grams of sugar is punishment to spent muscles starving for nutrients.  I am guilty of all of the above!  Before paleo, I didn’t realize the chewy granola bar was worse than a milky way.  I thought I was making a better choice.  Don’t eat out of habit.  If it’s in a package, it’s probably not good for you.  Examine what your eating.  Just because you grew up eating it, doesn’t mean you should anymore.  Find a favorite, healthy treat.  Drop the sugar, drop the dairy, drop the wheat.  Choose A high-protein post workout meal with vegetable carbs.  See the difference in how you look and feel once you eliminate the daily sugar.

Leave a Reply

