Paleo Surf & Turf

BisonLamb SmeltsCooked SmeltsRawI’ve learned a lot about cooking just by maintaining my diet.  Most people become bored with their diets over any length of time.  The menu becomes limited because maintaining a routine limits your choices.  One of the reasons I am successful with the paleo diet is because I’m constantly on the search for new foods that stimulate my tastebuds as well as meet the requirements of the diet. One of the important characteristics of the diet is reducing the ratio of Omega 6 to Omega 3 fats in your diet.  Read about Omega 6/3 imbalance on my Favorite Links page.  One way to do this is to increase the Omega 3 fats in your diet by increasing your fish consumption, and decrease your Omega 6 fats in your diet by eliminating grains, and meats fed with grains.  I prepared a delicious burger the other day, by mixing grass fed, ground lamb, and grass fed, ground bison.  It was very tasty.  For fish, Whole Foods had fresh, wild caught Smelts on sale for $5.99.  That’s a lot of Omega 3 and protein for only a few dollars.  I dusted them with coconut flour, salt and pepper and pan fried them in olive oil.  I garnished them with pickled turnip, and parsley, and served them with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Challenge your cooking skills and you will eat well! Or call me up and I’ll teach you how to cook some great paleo dishes.

Leave a Reply

