What Did the Duck say to the Chicken?

RoastedChickenHerbSaladEver since I started using grass fed animal fats in my cooking, I can’t stay away from basting.  It’s a treat that I give myself once or twice a week.  I certainly enjoy the subtle flavors found in tallow and duck fat.  You can test  your palette by cooking the simplest thing: an egg.  Fry an egg in duck fat and see if you can discern the different flavors.  I’m sure you will notice a difference.  Then you can incorporate the fat into different dishes.  For example, last night, I sautéed figs in tallow, then finished them with an aged balsamic.  The possibilities are endless.  You may know that living a paleo lifestyle can be challenging at times, especially when examining the food sources of the meats you purchase.  I buy my chicken from a butcher that sources from grass fed, corn free, soy free farms.  These chickens are a lot leaner, which means less fat.  In the roasting process, I baste the bird with fat from the pan.  Because there’s not always a lot of fat in the pan, I supplement it with a few tablespoons of duck fat.  This is delicious!  Top your meat with a variety of fresh herbs: tarragon, basil, rosemary, parsley, cilantro, and arugula.  Add roasted root vegetables like carrots and parsnips.  I know there’s a fingerling potato on the plate.  That was for my guest, not for me.  What did the Duck say to the Chicken?  One day, I’m going to be all over you!

Leave a Reply

