Quick Chips

YamChipsOn days when I have a tough workout ahead of me, I’ll add yams to my morning meal.  I prefer parsnips but yams offer a few more carbs at the cost of a higher glycemic index.  This morning, I just happened to make my first cut a thin one.  I usually opt for a much heartier cut but for some reason, instead of correcting my next cut, I continued to cut thin slices of yam.  Sautéing them in olive oil, I discovered a crispy bite in a matter of minutes.  For those of you without a sharp chef’s knife or little experience in cutting yams, please do not risk injury.  Use a mandolin slicer found at your local asian market or Bed, Bath & Beyond.  Today, egg white, mushroom omelet with Trader Joe’s Power Greens and yam chips.

3 thoughts on “Quick Chips

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Crispy | Paleo Breakfast

  2. Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics?
    Thanks for your time!

    • Hi Steve,
      Thanks for reading! On my Favorite Links page, I have a number of links to other sites about the paleo diet. Both authors of my favorite books also have blogs. The Paleo Diet by Loren Cordain, and The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf. Also, Mark’s Daily Apple is a great newsletter from Mark Sisson’s site, based on his book, The Primal Blueprint.

Leave a Reply

