What to Put on Your Burger

grassburgerBurgers are everywhere.  I love them.  Here’s the problem.  A traditional burger, the way I grew up eating them, comes on a bun, with ketchup, pickles, and a side of fries.  As soon as you mention a hamburger, that’s what I think of.  How do you change your emotional needs when eating?  It takes time, but you have to change your perception of food in order to conquer the effects.  Acknowledge when food owns you.  When I have a stressful day, I feel cravings for bad foods and drinks.  I know that about myself so I’m particularly mindful of stressful situations and how to combat the cravings.  The reason I bring this up is because, to many, a burger is a comfort food, and a burger can fall into that category of food you grab when you’re stressed out or upset.  The fact that they’re readily available means you’re even more prone to turn to them.  How do you neutralize the burger so you can eat them and not pay for it later?  Use grass fed beef, leave off the bun, leave off the cheese, leave off the condiments (heavy salt & sugar), add healthy sides like salads or vegetable, and don’t eat french fries (more salt & sugar)!  If you’re ordering from a restaurant, most will wrap it in lettuce instead of a bun (protein style).  Here’s my breakfast burger with mushrooms and asparagus, and roasted parsnips.  I can eat this for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, any day of the week!

Leave a Reply

