Paleo Dollar Meal!

turkeylegI hear over and over again that it’s expensive to eat healthy.  I think it’s the opposite.  Think of all the unhealthy things you can eat that appear to be “cheap”: pasta, bread, corn, potatoes, fast food.  Problem is, we buy so much of it because we don’t get the nutrients we need from them and we have to constantly eat to satisfy the sugar cravings that come along with those types of foods.  My monthly grocery bill was cut in half when I started the paleo diet.  About 6 months in, I started buying more premium proteins as I explored healthier sources.  I still spend less than when I was buying treats, sweets, and other processed foods.  I’m much more effective with my calorie intake now that I know how to shop, what to buy, how to balance a meal.  Post Thanksgiving sales give us a lot of inexpensive food choices.  Turkey legs were on sale for $0.99 a pound.  The one I selected happened to be just shy of a pound, a mere $0.90.  Roasted in the oven for 45  minutes at 325, a handful of arugula and lemon juice, and I have my self a meal worthy of a dollar.  Let’s compare that with McDonalds Dollar Days Cheeseburger, because that’s what I use to buy if I only had a dollar to eat.  I still know people that do this, too.  They think they’re getting the best value for their money, with protein, bread, and dairy, not to mention the sugar.  Here’s the breakdown: Cheeseburger – 300 calories, 110 calories from fat, 12 g fat, 40 mg cholesterol, 690 mg sodium, 33 g carbs, 2 g fiber, 7 g sugar, 15 g protein, 20% drv calcium.  Turkey leg – 212 calories, 75 calories from fat, 8 g fat, 83 mg cholesterol, 71 mg sodium, o carbs, fiber, sugar, 32 mg of protein and about a dozen vitamins and minerals.  The carbs and calories from a few ounces of arugula are negligible, but the vitamins and minerals are more plentiful and along with the turkey, makes an even more nutritious meal.  I think you can see, hands down, the clear winner between these two meals is the 90 cent turkey leg.  We traded  the carbs, salt, and sugar for more protein and a laundry list of vitamins and minerals.  A slight bump in cholesterol when you buy dark meat but if we are limiting our intake, it’s way under a daily value.  Please take the time to evaluate your food choices and try new, simple, real food meals.

One thought on “Paleo Dollar Meal!

  1. Pingback: What Do You Eat On A Paleo Diet

Leave a Reply

