Do You Eat Tuna?

fishsaladIf you’re on the paleo diet, you already know the importance of fish and its high Omega 3 content.  What are your options for fish.  Certainly, we are all familiar with canned tuna.  No salt, packed in water, tuna will provide you with protein, Omega 3, Niacin, B6, B12, and Selenium.  I won’t break down the role of each of these but they are all very important nutrients.  Your typical can of premium tuna is $1.99 for a 5 oz can.  You know exactly what you’re getting when you buy a can of tuna.  It’s hard to make it taste any different.  It’s already cooked and ready to eat, so why not just save that for the zombie apocalypse and eat it with a plastic fork while huddled in the back of a car waiting for the herd to clear.  I like to cook, as you know, so while I can, I’m buying fresh fish and cooking it to order.  I was at the fish market shopping for a client and ordered a whole fish.  While I was waiting to have it filleted, I noticed another customer order a whole salmon and specifically asked for it cut down to 4-5 oz portions.  I watched the fish monger break down the fish, cut it into portions, wrap it up, and hand it off to the customer.  As he cleaned up his workstation, I saw him throw the small scraps of fish left from portioning into a bowl.  I asked him what those were for and he said, “We sell it for chowder.  $6.99 a pound”.  Sure enough, he placed the bowl in the corner of the display case, labeled “Chowder Pieces”.  That fresh King Salmon was priced at $15.99 a pound, but the odd shaped corners were now for sale for $6.99.  I asked what else was in there:  halibut, sole, salmon, rockfish, sea bass.  All premium fish from a fish market.  I took a quarter pound of sea bass for a mere $1.75.  See where I’m going here?  Baby greens tossed with lemon and a quarter pound of grilled, fresh sea bass for about the same price as a can of tuna.  You can eat great food on the paleo diet and it doesn’t have to cost you an arm and a leg.  Speaking of legs, watch for my next  post later this week!

Leave a Reply

