Stuff it!

When the world gives you a pretty little bowl to fill, you better fill it up with something.  Of course, this is all driven by my quest for new foods on the paleo diet.  I’ve been eating a lot of butternut squash the past few weeks due to its seasonal availability and price.  Right next to the butternut squash, I found the acorn squash.  Yes, it looks like a giant acorn and due to its odd shape, it’s difficult to peel and prepare like butternut squash.  I split it in half and put it face down in the oven at 400 degrees.  About 30 minutes later, a beautiful toasty little bowl.  With two halves, I saved one for breakfast and heated in the microwave for 90 seconds.  I sautéed some onions and ground bison to fill my squash with and served that on a bed of baby lettuce mix.  I love eating!

Leave a Reply

