Pork Belly, not Bacon

I happened upon a new butcher in town, Lindy & Grundy on Fairfax.  So thrilled to meet the owner and learn about their local sources for organic meats.  They bring in whole carcass and do all their butchering on site.  I’m especially excited to try the no soy, no corn chicken.  They were out of birds the day I went so I’m going back soon.  The first thing that caught my eye was the pork belly, so I went with it.  I rarely eat pork since it was eating bacon every day that got me into trouble in the first place.  I’ve since learned to balance my diet with all meats.  This is a little fattier that usual so, again, I’m limiting.  I braised the pork belly, then cut and served for a few dinners and breakfasts.  Maybe a 2 oz portion with an omega 3 egg and mesclun greens and lemon.  Why choose pork belly over bacon?  Most bacon is cured with salt and sugar.  The average slice of bacon has over 600 mg of salt, and most servings you get at the table or restaurant consist of 3 slices.  Almost 2000 mg of salt can ruin your day.   Plus, packaged bacon processing consists of sodium nitrite, ascorbate, and phosphates.  If you must buy bacon, please look for brands that eliminate the chemicals of processing.  You’ll pay more, but it’s worth it.  And if you’re motivated, making bacon is a lot easier than you think.  That way you can choose your source of meat, ingredients, and methods of cooking.  I opted for the true pork flavor and eliminated the salt and sugar.  Either way, that’s the paleo approach to cleaner eating.

Leave a Reply

