The Perfect Stir Fry!

If you’re on a diet or training program with a diet, then you understand the concept of counting calories.  But, it’s easier said than done.  I have a kitchen scale and weigh almost everything, mostly because I want to learn, partly because I like t o share the info with more specifics.  A paleo diet is all about balance.  A training diet incorporates that diet into muscle and strength building ratios.  For example, I’m targeting a 50/30/20 protein, carb, fat ratio for my regimen.  This allows me to get the protein I need for muscle and strength.  I researched this ratio and found it to be part of many fitness plans.  So what does this all mean?  How do you create a meal?  Let me get extreme, because I use to be with my eating.  I grew up thinking the Denny’s Grand Slam breakfast was healthy because it had protein (bacon and eggs), grains (pancakes), and even healthy vegetables (potatoes).  Carbs were important for energy.  Here’s the breakdown:  Denny’s Grand Slam breakfast with 2 eggs, 2 pancakes, 2 slices of bacon, and hashbrowns, 1083 calories, 42 g carbs, 50 g fat (13 saturated), 2626 mg sodium (daily allowance is 2500), 42 g sugar, and 24 g protein…oh, and 475 mg cholesterol.  This morning, I had a chicken stir fry: chicken (4 oz), asparagus (1/2 cup), mushrooms (1/2 cup), and 1/4 tbs of olive oil.  That’s 183 calories, 6 g carbs, 5 g fat, 65 mg sodium, 2 g sugar, 29 g protein, and 65 mg cholesterol. There’s just no comparison, even if I were to double the portion size of my stir fry.  Now check out the ratios:  Denny’s Grand Slam protein, carbs, fat, 13/24/63.  My stir fry, protein, carbs, fat 63/12/25.  This is what makes the stir fry a perfect training meal.  You can make those ratios anything they need to be with real paleo foods.  If I need to add the carbs later in the day, I can have root vegetables like parsnips or beets.  100 grams (3.5 oz) of steamed parsnips is 66 calories and 12.5 g carbs, which makes that ratio 50/30/20, and that’s exactly where I want to be.  Here’s what worries me, if I grew up thinking Denny’s was healthy, I know a lot of other people did.  Please make better choices with your food, and help other to do so, too.

Leave a Reply

