Bacon!

We all love bacon, but truthfully we eat too much of it.  Like prosciuto and other dried or cured meats, bacon contains loads of salt and sugar.  If it’s a non-negotiable thing for you or you indulge every once in a while, here are a few things to consider.  Under the paleo diet, you strive to eliminate any processed foods, which means not buying packaged foods that have undergone commercial production processing before getting to you.  I’m not saying I’m never going to have a bite of bacon for the rest of my life, but I can’t go back to eating the pound a week I was eating 5 years ago.  That got me into all kinds of cholesterol and triglycerides troubles and issues that are gone from my life, now.  If you’re going to buy bacon, buy the least processed kind.  Buy the most expensive you can find.  Buy the grass-fed, soy free, corn free, gluten free, kind.  Look for minimal processing from sustainable sources.  Chances are the better bacon will have less salt and sugar.  And you always have the option of making your own bacon (it’s easier than you think and much more gratifying to eat).  Why do I have a picture of salmon up today?  Because, I’m equally as satisfied eating a crunchy piece of salmon skin.  Salmon skin is a tasty treat and there’s nothing like the crunch.  It is so much healthier than bacon, too.  Let’s face it, you may never stop eating bacon, but finding healthier alternative makes it a lot easier to make the better choice.

2 thoughts on “Bacon!

  1. Somehow I don’t think I’ll ever get Bob to consider salmon skin as an alternative to bacon. And to be honest, I’m not sure I can. But the truth is that we don’t eat too much bacon. I only buy it once a month and when I do, I buy the expensive minimally processed kind. Thank you for validating that pricey choice! When I was pregnant, I aimed to avoid all chemicals and processed food. It was a real breakthrough for me. It’s way easier than you think it will be, right?!

  2. Don’t forget about the times we eat it when we’re out. The US per capita average is 18 lbs a year. The health conscious eat much less. Like I said, I was eating a pound a week for a year. Yikes. Maybe I’ve had 3 slices this year. Congrats on all your health conscious efforts. You look great!

Leave a Reply

