Nuts & Berries

Nuts and berries are a snacking staple for me.  But, sometimes I eat them for breakfast.  When I’ve had a heavy meal the night before or I’m on the go, I eat walnuts and various types of berries.  Walnuts are another Omega 3 source.  Not only that, they’re the best ratio Omega 6/Omega 3 nut out there, and that balance is part of what makes the paleo diet effective.  There is a lot of research that indicates a diet heavy in Omega 6 (found in grains), is the cause of many chronic illness.  The Omega 6/Omega 3 ratio for caveman was 1:1, but most Western diets run a 15:1 ratio.  Corn is a high Omega 6 fat food, so eating corn fed meats gives us more Omega 6 than we want.  Grass fed meats has a much higher Omega 3 content.  See where this is leading?  Stay away from grains and grain fed meats, too.  It’s a challenge, but if you have a choice, make the better one.  I think I’ll have more of that fish from yesterday…

Leave a Reply

