Turkey and a Crispy Fried Egg

I started the morning off with a hike in Griffith Park.  I don’t like to exercise on a full stomach so all I had was a banana and some water.  Of course, I was famished after 2.5 miles uphill and 1000 foot climb.   Protein is my go-to post workout meal.  Fresh turkey tenders can be found at Trader Joe’s or by Jennie-O at your grocery store.  Double check to see if they’ve processed it with salt, because sometimes they do.  Trader Joe’s also sells a sliced breast which is brined so I avoid that one.  I sauteed my turkey in olive oil along with half an onion, diced.  Onion is another sulfur vegetable that also can provide some nice flavor without using salt or sugar.  A crispy fried egg adds some crunch and yolk for dipping.  A slice of cantaloupe to finish it off.  A friend of mine said, “Paleo is one of those high protein diets”.  Actually, by days end, I have a pretty balanced calorie count of a third each of protein, carbs and fats.  It’s just that now, my choice of carbs are from fruits and root vegetables instead of sugar and grains.

One thought on “Turkey and a Crispy Fried Egg

  1. Turkey tenders for breakfast, what a great idea! Now I have to check the amount of sodium in the Trader Joe’s turkey bacon.

Leave a Reply

