Smoked Salmon and Arugula

This is one of my favorites!  And it can’t get any easier.  I use Trader Joe’s Organic Arugula.  It comes pre-washed and ready to use.  Grab a big handful and throw it in a mixing bowl.  Drizzle with olive oil (no more than a tablespoon), squeeze a fresh lemon on top and toss.  As far as smoked salmon goes, I normally don’t buy it because it is processed, but this is about the extent of my “cheats”.  I usually cook my own fresh salmon and keep it in the fridge for salads.  If you do buy smoked salmon, do your best in finding the lowest sodium brand available.  Kirkland brand from Costco has 450 mg per serving vs. others as high as 850mg.  I had some leftover from a party and put a few ounces on my salad.  It’s a great balance of flavor between the good fats from the salmon and olive oil, and the fresh lemon and peppery arugula.  Again, you can’t have too much salad and leafy greens, so fill up!  You’ll find this protein is great for starting your day.  Just like egg whites, it’s loaded with omega 3’s.

Leave a comment